Where states stand on the extra $ 300 weekly unemployment benefits

The Federal Emergency Management Agency, which oversees program funding, had approved 13 states to offer the additional unemployment benefits starting at noon ET on Friday.

Those states are: Arizona, Colorado, Idaho, Iowa, Kentucky, Louisiana, Maryland, Michigan, Missouri, Montana, New Mexico, Oklahoma and Utah.

Seven others – Alabama, Alaska, Arkansas, California, Indiana, Texas and West Virginia have applied – a FEMA spokeswoman said Thursday.

Officials in about 10 other states have signaled their intention to apply for help in recent days. South Dakota has said it will not apply for the subsidy.

States approved for support are only guaranteed three weeks of funding, with payments returned after the week ended August 1. However, they may receive more assistance, depending on how many states apply and how quickly the money is distributed.

Not all unemployed workers are eligible for the payments. Those who currently receive less than $ 100 a week in unemployment benefits will not receive the assistance – amount of thousands of people, and perhaps more than 1 million.