1,100 new COVID-19 cases were reported in Utah on Sunday, with 3 additional deaths

SALT LAKE CITY – For the fifth day in a row, Utah health officials reported more than 1,000 new COVID-19 cases as well as three additional deaths on Sunday.

Of, 1,097 cases were confirmed out of 77 tests – according to the Utah Department of Health, a 1.7..7% positive rate. The seven-day rolling average for new cases is 1,206 per day, and the average positive test rate is 14.2%.

Current hospital admissions fell slightly to 291 on Sunday, down from the state’s Saturday record of 298.

Just three weeks after authorities enforced the mask order, Utah County cases continue to decline. On Sunday, the county accounted for 25% of the state’s cases. Almost every other county or health district in the state is seeing an increase in new cases, according to state health department statistics.

Each county, meanwhile, continues to confirm disease rates considered “very high” by health officials, with the exception of Degate, Utah, Duchenne and San Juan counties, as well as North Washington County and Cedar City.

The death toll reported on Sunday puts the state’s figure at 54 Ut3 Utahns. The dead were a Salt Lake County man between the ages of 65 and 84, a long-term care resident; A Salt Lake County woman between the ages of 65-84, who died and was hospitalized; And a Davis County woman between 45-64 who was also hospitalized.

Of the 973,938 people tested since the epidemic began, 94,394 positive cases have now been confirmed in Utah, with a positive rate of 9.7%. About 70,200 cases in the state are believed to have recovered after going through a three-week phase after their diagnosis.

Admission to the hospital after the outbreak hit Utah for a total of 6,566.

New CWD-19 cases were reported on Sunday by the health district.

  • Salt Lake County, 486
  • Utah County, 272
  • Bear River, 73
  • Southwest Utah, 73
  • Davis County, 69
  • Weber-Morgan, 63
  • Central Utah, 20
  • Twill County, 20
  • San Juan County, 9
  • Washech County, 8
  • Tricounty (Utah Basin), 5
  • Summit County, 5
  • Southeast Utah, 3