Iginla, Hossa and Lowe lead the Class of 2020 in the Hockey Hall of Fame

Kim St-Pierre was also chosen from the Canadian women’s national team. Ken Holland was chosen in the Builders category.

The induction ceremony is scheduled for November 16 in Toronto, but the date could change depending on when the 2020-21 NHL season begins.

Iginla, a longtime Calgary Flames forward, scored 1,300 points (625 goals, 675 assists) in 1,554 games over 20 NHL seasons with Flames, Pittsburgh Penguins, Boston Bruins, Colorado Avalanche and Los Angeles Kings. He is 14th in games played, tied for 16th in goals with Hall of Fame member Joe Sakic, and ninth in winning goals (101). Iginla scored 68 points (37 goals, 31 assists) in 81 Stanley Playoff Cup games.

He won the Art Ross Trophy as the top scorer and Rocket Richard Trophy as the top scorer in the NHL in 2001-02, when he scored 96 points (52 goals, 44 assists). He won the Richard Trophy again in 2003-04 with 41 goals, tied for the NHL lead with Rick Nash and Ilya Kovalchuk. Iginla had 12 consecutive NHL full seasons with at least 30 goals from 2000-14. He won a gold medal with Canada at the 2002 Salt Lake City Olympics and the 2010 Vancouver Olympics, the IIHF World Championship in 1997, the IIHF Junior World Championship in 1996 and the Hockey World Cup in 2004.

Iginla, who was first eligible, will be the fourth black player to join, joining Grant Fuhr, Angela James and Willie O’Ree. Iginla and Fuhr are the only black NHL players honored for their accomplishments on the ice; O’Ree was inducted into the Constructors category two years ago for breaking the NHL color barrier in 1958.

“It is extremely special,” said Iginla. “I had a hard time sleeping the last few nights. I started my career. I did not dream of reaching the Hall of Fame. It is a true honor, I have been extremely blessed. It is still sinking.”

Video: Iginla and Hossa lead the 2020 Hockey Hall of Fame class

Hossa scored 1,134 points (525 goals, 609 assists) in 1,309 games in 19 NHL seasons with the Ottawa Senators, Atlanta Thrashers, Penguins, Detroit Red Wings and Chicago Blackhawks. The striker scored at least 30 goals eight times and at least 40 goals three times. Hossa won the Stanley Cup three times with the Blackhawks (2010, 2013, 2015) and reached the Stanley Cup Final with the Penguins in 2008 and Red Wings in 2009. He scored 149 points (52 goals, 97 assists) in 205 games. playoffs and is the only player to play in the Cup final in three consecutive seasons with three teams. He was also eligible for the first time.

“This honor means a lot to me,” said Hossa. “I would like to thank everyone who voted for me. I have learned a lot about life through the hockey game and I very much appreciate this recognition.”

Lowe, a defender, won the Stanley Cup six times and played in seven NHL All-Star Games. He scored 431 points (84 goals, 347 assists) in 1,254 regular-season games and 58 points (10 goals, 48 ​​assists) in 214 playoff games with the Edmonton Oilers and New York Rangers. Lowe was in his twentieth year of eligibility.

“I think maybe I represent the next level of guys who helped win championships,” Lowe said. “I appreciate that my contributions to the teams I played for are recognized in this way.”

Wilson won the Norris Trophy in 1981-82, when he scored 85 points (39 goals, 46 assists) in 76 games with the Blackhawks. He is the leader of the Blackhawks among the defenders in goals (225), assists (554), points (779), power goals (80), power points (355), short goals (nine) and winning goals (22) Wilson is ranked 15th among NHL defenders with 827 points (237 goals, 590 assists) in 1,024 games with Blackhawks and Sharks. This was his 24th year of eligibility.

“I’m not even a Hall of Fame member in my own home, so joining this club means a lot to me,” said Wilson, general manager of the San Jose Sharks. “I would like to thank all the people who have been so good to me in this game.”

St-Pierre won three women’s Olympic gold medals for Canada and five women’s world championships. She had an average of 1.17 goals against and a saving percentage of .939 playing for Canada. She played children’s hockey until she was 18, then played on the McGill University women’s team before playing in the Canadian Women’s Hockey League.

“Hockey has always been my passion and this is a very special honor,” said St-Pierre. “When I was a child, they were only children, and when that changed, my dream was possible [true]. I am grateful and I would like to thank all my coaches and my family. “

Holland, the general manager of Oilers, was general manager of the Red Wings from 1997 to 2019. They won the Stanley Cup three times in that span (1998, 2002, 2008); Holland was an assistant to GM when they won it in 1997. While he was Detroit GM, he won more combined regular-season games and playoffs than any other NHL team (1,044). He ranks fifth in NHL history with 962 regular-season wins as GM.

“I am incredibly humbled by this honor,” said Holland. “I am in this game because I loved it when I was young and I am happy that I was able to stay in the game.”

The 18-member selection committee voted remotely for the first time due to concerns about the coronavirus. The results of the vote are not published.