Daytime Emmy Awards 2020 Winners – Deadline

The Young and the Restless She was named Outstanding Drama in the 47th. Annual Daytime Emmy Awards this evening, with executive producer Anthony Morina calling the trophy “bittersweet” due to the deaths of three colleagues this year: Lee Bell, co-creator of the soap; longtime cast member Kristoff St. John; and Lisa de Cazotte, supervising producer.

“We dedicated this award to them,” said Morina.

Danger Alex Trebek won the Daytime Emmy for Outstanding Game Show Host. “I will be honest with you, this is a shock, very surprising to me,” Trebek said accepting his victory, adding: “Speaking as one who has now been nominated 32 times and won 7 times, I think I can say to some degree. of authority that winning is better ”.

Daytime Emmys sets presenters, announces categories on the air

Trebek was diagnosed with stage 4 pancreatic cancer last year.

Ellen DeGeneres, by accepting the Daytime Emmy for the Outstanding Entertainment talk show for her self-titled show, promised to use the next two years of her contract “to amplify the voices of blacks and people of color” on her show.

Saying that daytime talk shows could “do much more with the platform provided to us,” DeGeneres promised to use his show as an agent of change.

“I have been doing this program for 17 years and we have a few more left,” DeGeneres said from his home. “If anything has been clarified in the last month, it is that we can do much more with the platform that is provided to us. I intend to use the next two years of my program as a platform for change, to amplify the voices of blacks and people of color, and to educate my audience. More than ever, I feel it is a responsibility to affect change. “

Both winners in the supporting acting categories spoke out for racial justice in their acceptance speeches, while standout lead actor Jason Thompson from The Young and the Restless expressed support for Black Lives Matter.

NBC’s Today is the show he won the Emmy for his outstanding morning show. Kelly Clarkson took the award to the host of the exceptional entertainment talk show.

The view, danger, Tamara Braun from General Hospital and Bryton James from The Young and the Restless He took home the first awards announced at tonight’s Daytime Emmy Awards, and recipients delivered short, prerecorded virtual acceptance speeches from their homes.

The award ceremony, featuring presenters, presenters, nominees, and winners who appeared remotely due to the COVID-19 pandemic, revealed the winners of the top categories, with additional categories to be announced on Daytime social media accounts. Emmys after the broadcast. Other awards will air in separate virtual ceremonies on July 19 and 26.

Presenters and performers Sharon Osbourne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba and Marie Osmond tonight were presenters and performers, including Gayle King, Kelsey Grammer, Kathie Lee Gifford, Wayne Brady, Maurice Bernard and Kelly Ripa, and Ryan Seacrest, among others. .

Winners in the categories announced on the CBS broadcast:

Outstanding drama series
WINNER: “The young and the restless”
“General Hospital”
“Days of our lives”
“The daring and the pretty”

Excellent performance by a leading actress in a drama series
WINNER: Heather Tom, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Katherine Kelly Lang, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Maura West, “General Hospital”
Arianne Zucker, “Days of our lives”
Finola Hughes, “General Hospital”

Excellent performance by a leading actor in a drama series
WINNER: Jason Thompson, “The Young and the Restless”
Steve Burton, “General Hospital”
Jon Lindstrom, “General Hospital”
Thorsten Kaye, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Thaao Penghlis, “Days of our lives”

Exceptional entertainment news program
WINNER: “Entertainment Tonight”
“Access to Hollywood”
“Inner Edition”
“MY! News”

Exceptional writing team for a dramatic series
WINNER: “The Bold and the Beautiful”
“The Young and the Restless”
“General Hospital”
“Days of our lives”

Outstanding Digital Drama Series
WINNER: “The Bay”
“Forever after”
Studio City
“Dark / Web”

Outstanding entertainment talk show presenter
WINNER: Kelly Clarkson, “The Kelly Clarkson Show”
Sara Gilbert, Sharon Osborne, Sheryl Underwood, Eve, Carrie Ann Inaba, Marie Osmond, “The Talk”
Kelly Ripa and Ryan Seacrest, “Live with Kelly and Ryan”
Michael Strahan, Sara Haines, Keke Palmer, “GMA3”
Maury Povich, “Maury”

Featured Game Show Host
WINNER: Alex Trebek, “Jeopardy”
Wayne Brady, “Let’s Make a Deal”
Steve Harvey, “Family Fight”
Pat Sajak, “Wheel of Fortune”
Alfonso Ribeiro, “Catch 21”

Exceptional direction for a dramatic series
WINNER: “General Hospital”
“The Young and the Restless”
“The daring and the pretty”
“Days of our lives”

Exceptional legal / judicial program
WINNER: “The People’s Court”
“Hot Bank”
“Judge Judy”
“Judge Mathis”
Lauren Lake Paternity Court

Exceptional Special Class Special
WINNER: Sesame Street HBO 50th Anniversary Celebration
Macy’s NBC 93rd Annual Thanksgiving Day
I hate each other Popstar TV
This Old House: 40th Anniversary Special PBS
The Young and the Restless: Kristoff St. John Tribute CBS

Outstanding Culinary Series
WINNER: “Giada entertains”
“Valerie’s Home Cooking”
“Barefoot Countess: cooking like a professional”
“30 minute meals”
“Milk Street”

Excellent morning show
WINNER: “Today Show”
“CBS Sunday morning”
“Good morning america”
“Sunday today with Willie Geist”
“CBS this morning”

Exceptional entertainment talk show
WINNER: “The Ellen DeGeneres Show”
“The conversation”
“The Kelly Clarkson Show”
“Live with Kelly and Ryan”
“GMA3: Strahan, Sara and Keke”

Best Younger Performer
WINNER: Olivia Rose Keegan, “Days of Our Lives”
Sasha Calle, “The young and the restless”
Eden McCoy, “General Hospital”
Thia Megia, “Days of our lives”
Katelyn MacMullen, “General Hospital”

Outstanding informative talk show
WINNER: “The View”
“Ray Rachael”
“Red Table Talk”
“Today’s show with Hoda and Jenna”
“The 3rd hour today”

Exceptional game show
WINNER: “Danger”
“The price is ok”
“Family dispute”
“Are you smarter than a 5th grader”
“Double challenge”

Best Supporting Actress in a Drama Series
WINNER: Tamara Braun, “General Hospital”
Christel Khalil, “The Young and the Restless”
Annika Noellee, “The Bold and the Beautiful”
Rebecca Budig, “General Hospital”
Susan Seaforth Hayes, “Days of our Lives”

Best Supporting Actor in a Drama Series
WINNER: Bryton James, “The Young and the Restless”
Chandler Massey, “Days of our Lives”
Wally Kurth, “Days of our lives”
Mark Grossman, “The Young and the Restless”
Paul Telfer, “Days of our lives”
James Patrick Stuart, “General Hospital”