Angel Olsen announces new album, shares new song “Whole New Mess”: Listen

Angel Olsen has announced a new album called All new mess, the first material he recorded and released without any bandmates since 2012 Half Way Home. It will leave on August 28 through Jagjaguwar. Watch a video of “Whole New Mess” and check out the list of songs below.

Find physical editions of Angel Olsen All new mess at Rough Trade. (Pitchfork earns a commission on purchases made through affiliate links on our site.)

Olsen recorded All new mess in October 2018 at The Unknown, the church-turned-studio led by Phil Elverum and Nicholas Wilbur in Anacortes, Washington. The album features more intimate versions of various songs that appeared last year. All mirrors. Olsen explained his approach in a brief statement:

He had been through this breakup, but he was so much bigger than that, he had also lost friends. When you leave a relationship, you have to examine who you are or what you were in all relationships. I wanted to record when I was still processing these feelings. These are the personal shots, encapsulated in a moment.

All new mess:

01 new disaster
02 Too easy (bigger than us)
03 (New Love) Cassette
04 (We are all mirrors)
05 (Summer song)
06 waving, smiling
07 tonight (without you)
08 Lark Song
09 Impasse (working for the name)
10 chance (love forever)
11 What is (what is)